Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook


NA terms calls for PM’s resignation ‘unconstitutional’

Posted by
Published: August 21, 2014 09:14 pm

National assembly image-3

ISLAMABAD: The National Assembly on Thursday adopted a resolution condemning the alleged ‘unconstitutional demands’ from a certain political party of resignation of the Prime Minister and dissolution of lower house.

Sponsored by PkMAP Parliamentary Leader Mehmud Khan Achakzai the resolution also deplored the derogatory language used by protesting parties’ leaders and members in their speeches, and resolved to uphold the supremacy of the constitution, sovereignty of Parliament and functioning of a democratic system.

Nine legislators – PML-N (4), PPPP (2) and one each from MQM, PML-Z and QWP – spoke on a motion under rule 259 about the prevailing political situation in the country for an hour and 36 minutes.
PML-N MNA Major (r) Tahir Iqbal, taking part in the debate, said that proper training of Returning Officers is required to acquaint them about fair voting process. He demanded that their training should also be a part of the electoral reforms process so that complaints about
rigging may end in next elections.

Another PML-N legislator Mohsin Shah Nawaz said that it is the constitutional right of all parliamentarians and public to move freely, but the current situation has made it difficult for the people. He said that the PTI leader’s has wrongly quoted Free and Fair Election Network
(FAFEN) reports on general elections 2013. However, FAFEN has claimed no such rigging.

QWP Parliamentary Leader Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao said that the Sri Lankan President had to cancel his visit to Pakistan due to the current political turmoil. Continuing his address, he thanked the media, human rights association, civil society and business communities
for supporting democracy, and urged the parliamentarians to stand united for supremacy of law.

Addressing the house, MQM lawmaker Asif Hasnain said his party always supported democracy and added that an amicable solution should be devised to overcome this political crisis. The PML-Z Parliamentary Leader Ejaz ul Haq said that all political forces are united during this challenging situation, and added that it is unfair that a party having only 34 seats in National Assembly wants to decide the fate of a 342-member house.

Nauman Islam Sheikh, PPPP legislator, condemned the derogatory language used against legislators by the PTI leader and added that the PTI lawmakers are demeaning the constitution and violating the mandate given to them by their voters.

PML-N lawmakers Khalid George, Tehmina Doltana and PPPP lawmaker Abdul Sattar Bachani also expressed their views. The sitting was adjourned for 1100 hours on Friday.

Posted by on August 21, 2014. Filed under Latest Post,National Assembly,News,Resolution National Assembly. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry