Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook


The Parliament of Bolivia

Posted by
Published: January 21, 2015 01:15 pm

Parliament of BoliviaThe Parliament of Bolivia, known as the Plurinational Legislative Assembly, is a bicameral legislature consisting of a Lower House (also called the Chamber of Deputies) and an Upper House (Senate).

The Vice President of Bolivia also serves as the President of the Plurinational Legislative Assembly. Each house elects its own directorate: a President, first and second Vice Presidents, and three or four Secretaries (for the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies, respectively).

Each party is said to have a bench consisting of its parliamentarians. The representatives of each department comprise a brigade. Each house considers legislation in standing committees.

The Senate has 36 seats. Each of the country’s nine departments returns four senators elected by proportional representation. From 1985 to 2009, the Senate had 27 seats – three seats per department, two from the party or formula that receives the most votes, with the third senator representing the second-placed party. Senators are elected from party lists to serve five-year terms, and the minimum age to hold a Senate seat is 35 years.

The Chamber of Deputies comprises 130 seats: 77 deputies are elected to represent single-member electoral districts, and an additional 53 are elected by proportional representation from party lists on a departmental basis. Deputies also serve five-year terms, and must be aged at least 25 on the day of the election. For the 2005 general election, seats were reapportioned, making 70 single-member electoral districts (60 are elected by proportional representation).

The legislative body was formerly known as the National Congress.

Posted by on January 21, 2015. Filed under Parliamentary Information. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry