Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook


The Parliament of Burkina Faso

Posted by
Published: February 10, 2015 04:45 pm

Parliament of Burkina FasoThe unicameral National Assembly is the Burkina Faso’s legislative body. In 1995, it became the lower house of a bicameral Parliament, but the upper house (Chamber of Representatives) was abolished in 2002. The upper house was restored under the name “Senate” in June 2012 constitutional amendments. This revision was never executed due to an extended and unresolved political confrontation over the Senate’s establishment, which left the country effectively with a unicameral legislature as of the October 2014 constitutional crisis.

On 30 October 2014, as part of the 2014 Burkinabe uprising, protesters stormed the parliament building and set fire to it, in anger at the Parliament’s decision to amend the Constitution of Burkina Faso to abolish term limits, which effectively paved the way for President Blaise Compaore to remain in office for another five-year term.

Posted by on February 10, 2015. Filed under Parliamentary Information. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry