Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook


The Parliament of Costa Rica

Posted by
Published: January 22, 2015 12:44 pm

Costa RicaThe Parliament of Costa Rica comprises a unicameral Legislative Assembly that comprises 57 deputies elected by direct, universal, popular vote on a proportional representation basis by the provinces for four year terms. A 1949 constitutional amendment prevents deputies from serving for two successive terms; however, a deputy may run again for an Assembly seat after sitting out a term. Following the 2014 legislative election, the Citizens’ Action Party was able to form a coalition government with Broad Front and Social Christian Unity Party. The three parties together amounted to 30 seats, thus giving them control of the legislature.  Voting is compulsory in Costa Rica. Nevertheless, abstention was 35 percent in 2006 and 32 percent in 2010. Under the proportional representation system, divisions in an electorate are reflected proportionately in the elected body. The essence of such systems is that all votes contribute to the result, not just a plurality, or a bare majority of them. Proportional representation requires the use of multiple-member voting districts.

Posted by on January 22, 2015. Filed under Parliamentary Information. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry