Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook


The Parliament of Libya

Posted by
Published: February 2, 2015 04:24 pm

The Parliament of LibyaLegislative elections were held in Libya on June 25, 2014, for the Majlis al-Nuwaab which translates into English as the Council of Deputies and frequently referred to as the House of Representatives.

Whilst all candidates ran as independents, the elections saw nationalist and liberal factions win the majority of seats with Islamist groups being reduced to only around 30 seats.

A General National Congress was elected in July 2012 with the original responsibility of forming a Constituent Assembly to write the constitution; however, the National Transitional Council decided that Libyans will instead directly elect the Constituent Assembly. The General National Congress came to agreement on April 10, 2013, that the Constituent Assembly members will be elected and the election took place on February 20, 2014.

On May 25, 2014, the General National Congress set June 25, 2014, as the date for elections to the House of Representatives. The new legislature has allocated 30 seats for women, will have 200 seats overall (with individuals able to run as members of political parties) and allows Libyans of foreign nationalities to run for office.

The 200 seats were elected in by three different methods. Forty seats were elected by first-past-the-post in single-member constituencies, 80 were elected by single non-transferable vote in 29 multi-member constituencies, and the remaining 80 were elected by proportional representation. In an attempt to reduce tensions, all candidates contested the election as individuals, instead of running on party lists.

Posted by on February 2, 2015. Filed under Parliamentary Information. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry